On 1 September 2006, Bahrain changed its weekend from being Thursdays and Fridays to Fridays and Saturdays, in order to have a day of the weekend shared with the rest of the world. Other non-regular holidays are listed below:
Date     English name     Local (Arabic) name     Description
1 January     New Year's Day     رأس السنة الميلادية     The Gregorian New Year's Day, celebrated by most parts of the world.
1 May     Labour Day     يوم العمال     
16 December     National Day     اليوم الوطني     National Day, Accession Day for the late Amir Sh. Isa Bin Salman Al Khalifa
17 December     Accession Day     يوم الجلوس     
1st Muharram     Islamic New Year     رأس السنة الهجرية     Islamic New Year (also known as: Hijri New Year).
9th, 10th Muharram     Day of Ashura     عاشوراء     Commemorates the martyrdom of Imam Hussein.
12th Rabiul Awwal     Prophet Muhammad's birthday     المولد النبوي     Commemorates Prophet Muhammad's birthday, celebrated in most parts of the Muslim world.
1st, 2nd, 3rd Shawwal     Little Feast     عيد الفطر     Commemorates end of Ramadan.
9th Zulhijjah     Arafat Day     يوم عرفة     
10th, 11th, 12th Zulhijjah     Feast of the Sacrifice     عيد الأضحى     Commemorates Ibrahim's willingness to sacrifice his son. Also known as the Big Feast (celebrated from the 10th to 13th).